The Lux Series by Jennifer L. Armentrout

luxseriesbanner

So I spent like a week rereading the Lux series (plus the Covenant series and read for the first time the Dark Elements series) and all because Opposition finally came out! Woo!

Of course, then my dang computer freaked out on me, so I had to wait to write these short reviews. So naturally I’m so behind on writing!  What sucks is I think I broke my A key….

In any case, for those of you who don’t know, the Lux series is a YA paranormal romance (…although I guess this one could be Sci-fi too) by the talented Jennifer L. Armentrout (not to be confused with the OTHER Armintrout who writes paranormal romance – mostly vampires that I saw/read). To be honest, I’m not a gigantic fan of YA/NA although some authors can just rope me in. And JLArmentrout does that and more.

Not only is this series one of the subgenres (or would that be sub-subgenres of romance?) I don’t really read often, but she throws in a type of protagonist or subject I don’t usually go for in romances either. Aliens. Yeah, I am not usually a big alien romance reader. Can’t help it, just isn’t my thing. However, this series is still amazing!

Synopsis (from Amazon):

When seventeen-year-old Katy Swartz moved to West Virginia right before her senior year, she’d pretty much resigned herself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring, but then she spotted her hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up . . . until he opened his mouth. Daemon Black is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. It’s hate at first sight, but when a stranger attacks her and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something . . . unexpected happens. The hot guy next door? Well, he’s an alien. Turns out that Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities and Katy is caught in the crosshairs. Daemon’s touch has lit her up like the Vegas Strip and the only way she’s getting out of this alive is by sticking close to him until her alien mojo fades. That is, if she doesn’t kill him first.

shadowscoverShadows (prequel)

Dawson and Bethany’s story. A beautiful full-length novel detailing the account of Dawson and Bethany’s meeting, whirlwind romance, and lastly, what really happened before they’re disappearance.

Short Review: I missed Daemon and Katy reading this. I really did. However, Dawson and Bethany’s such intense, immediate chemistry turned me into a squealing teenage girl. I was so thrilled at the romance between the two. It was a beautiful love story with some of the best chemistry I have ever read in any novel. And that’s saying something. I’m trying not to give away any spoilers, but let’s just say, Dawson got planted on his ass the moment he laid eyes on her and nothing – and I mean nothing – would keep him from her. It was beautiful. I cried at the end of this story and I’m not ashamed to admit it! I am not much of a crier, but if you don’t need tissues by the end (especially if you are reading this after starting the main Lux series), then you are a tougher woman than I. I’d have to say – despite the lack of my main character couple – this is a definite 5 stars!

obsidiancoverObsidian (Lux 1.0)

The beginning of Daemon and Katy’s story and the start of an amazing series. Like I stated before, Katy moves to a new town and it turns out her hot – but assholish – neighbor is an alien. I know what it sounds like – if you’re like me and go “eh? Aliens…. how about no?” but I honestly couldn’t put this book – or series – down!

A YA paranormal romance series by one of the best YA authors I’ve read. Honestly, you want to pick up this book. Just give it a try and see if I’m wrong. It’s what I did.

I absolute adored Katy! She had the usual teenage hormones, but a more adult attitude due to spending a lot of time taking care of herself, and it is just classic how she deals with Daemon and his anti-human sentiment at first. She’s feisty, a reader (and blogger!!), and she does not take Daemon’s attitude even when he hurts her feelings. It’s glorious.

As for Daemon, you of course want to beat him over the head with the nearest tree branch for the first half of the book because he is such a complete jackass to Katy – and well, everyone else except his sister and his sometimes girlfriend Ash.

And yes, I know, most of you all hate Ash. Heck I did to, especially in this book. But you have got to have that mean girl in a High School setting. Just have to. Otherwise it wouldn’t really be realistically high school, right? We’ve been there, done that, wouldn’t want to go back. Or at least I wouldn’t, and the mean girls weren’t even mean to me! In any case, like most humans – or in Ash’s case, most Luxens – she has issues as we’ll learn later.

Overall, this is a glorious start of a series that had me reaching for the next immediately (even during this session of rereading). So even if YA, paranormal romance, or aliens aren’t your thing, I STILL suggest you pick up a copy (or borrow from the library, your friend, whoever) and try it out with this novel. If it can make me rant and rave on the greatness of Alien hotties, then it can have any of you doing the same.

If you don’t like it, you can always ignore the rest of the series and tell me I suck for torturing you with a bad pick. But I’m pretty sure you’ll devour the series like I did.

5 stars!!

onyxcoverOnyx (Lux 2.0)

Katy and Daemon are again in trouble as they try to figure out everything that’s going on with the DOD and the new boy in school and the strange things that have been going on with Katy, and to make matters worse (for Katy), Daemon has decided that he wants her and will stop at nothing to convince her to be with him. As if life couldn’t get even more complicated….

I keep raving about this series, and the second book is really no exception. Katy is too mature for her own good – and her background explains it nicely – and keeps this book a one-sitting type of book. You can’t put it down, waiting and waiting for Katy to finally give in to Daemon. Plus you throw in the mysterious boy Blake and you’re in for a load of drama. It was very nicely done! Again 5 stars!

 

 

opalcoverOpal (Lux 3.0)

This is the novel when Katy and Daemon’s relationship really heats up and betrayals and some answers come to the surface. Finally. I was waiting for it and waiting for it and waiting for it! It doesn’t disappoint! JLArmentrout is amazing at the heat between these two and yet she also masterfully keeps from from jumping in the sack, without immediately saying “I’m not ready, let’s wait and hold hands” etc. It was masterfully done and I honestly don’t have anything to complain about there. Again, 5 stars!

 

 

 

 

origincoverOrigin (Lux 4.0)

This installment is a lot darker than the others. I’m trying so hard not to give spoilers here, but I think it’ll be safe to say that Katy and Daemon got split up and neither one of them are taking that well. Daemon would burn the world for her and it shows in this novel. It’s also the first time you get to read from Daemon’s point of view in the entire series. Half of it is from Katy’s POV of course, but the other half is all Daemon. I was an emotional wreck throughout this entire novel. Ups and downs and “awww so want my own Daemon” moments had me all over the place. Once again, it was a one-sitting novel and I ate it up. It was beautiful and amazing and so angst-filled, I have no words. If I could rate it higher than 5 stars, I would. It was that good.

 

oppositioncoverOpposition (Lux 5.0 Final)

The final novel in the Lux series (and yes, Obsession – the adult spin-off – will be reviewed below too) and I must say, it was worth the wait. Abso-freaking-lutely worth the wait to read.

The angst, the drama, the fear – all of it – was very tangible to me as a reader. It was just…. perfectly done. Daemon and Katy are adorable together – and hot for each other of course – and the other couple is just too sweet for words. I adore Luc and Archer, I feel so badly for Dee, and everything comes to a nice dramatic – and violent – head in this novel.

The writing is up to it’s usual wonderful standards and as always, you’re kept guessing until the end. And of course, the tears. I lost it at one point in the book and actually had to set it down. JLArmentrout is a masterful storyteller and I honestly couldn’t have asked for anything more. Beautiful, edge-of-your-seat page-turner. 5 stars!

To pick up your copy of the latest – and final – installment of the Lux series:  Amazon (and any other Lux novels you wish)


obsessioncoverObsession (Arum novel – a Lux adult spin-off)

This is Hunter and Serena’s tale. An Arum and a human, can you imagine? This is also definitely an adult installment in the Lux universe. You meet Hunter in the main series briefly and later on in Opposition where he plays a more pivotal role. You also see him with Serena and how much he cares for her and this is their story.

Serena’s friend witnesses a pair of Luxen arguing and discovers they’re not human. She confides in Serena and is later murdered before her eyes. The DOD steps in and orders Hunter to guard her and figure out if she knows anything more. When the DOD turns on her, Hunter has to make a choice.

This novel was nicely done! Of course, while it was nice to see that the villains aren’t all evil people-eating monsters, I wasn’t thrilled about reading this installment at first. However, the heat between Hunter and Serena nearly melt the pages of the book and you get a nice taste of how the other side see things. It made for a nice change of pace, the humanizing of the Arum. JLArmentrout did an amazing job with the adult interactions – she’s definitely not a one-trick pony.

Although I loved how fiesty Serena was and how very, very dangerous Hunter was to her. This is the only book in the Lux universe however that I can remember one slight flaw – to me anyway. I felt the whole ‘lust-to-love’ moment went a little fast. One minute all he can think of is getting in her pants and is a bit possessive, next it’s all wham, she’s no longer in danger of being eaten. Other than that, though, I loved this installment! I’ll give it a 4.5 stars!


Stalker Links

jlarmentroutJennifer L. Armentrout – website

JLArmentrout’s Blog

Author’s Facebook

Twitter

JLA Goodreads

Amazon

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

